January 2015, week 4 – First Harvest

Happy New Year to all my readers!

WP_20150221_10_27_44_Pro

Chives growing by the fence

Weather has been fun so far and I have been away most of the year. I am back to Northwest. For the first time this year, I ventured into the mossy soggy garden. To my surprise, I found overwintered green onions and my trusty chives. I am so happy to harvest a bunch of spring onions and generous snips of chives. All were promptly used as garnish on Uttapa I was making for breakfast.

WP_20150221_10_27_53_Pro

Here is the close-up of trusty chives. Being Perennial, these come up in winter every year.

WP_20150221_10_29_10_Pro

Generous Snips of chives are my first harvest of the year! Chives got a good haircut.

January Harvest:
Spring Onion: 4-5 springs
Chives: a generous bunch for garnish

One thought on “January 2015, week 4 – First Harvest

  1. So exciting that you live in Sammamish too! You should join our Facebook group aptly named Sammamish Gardeners! Also the Buy Nothing FB group in Samammish is becoming quite the thing!

Comments are closed.