Sammamish is not Idaho!

Sammamish is NOT in Idaho, I hope I can still grow potatoes!

Being an Indian is enough to express my love for potatoes. We Indians use potatoes in any dish we can cook. Needless to say, when I first came to this country, I was so happy to see many varieties and colors of tubers. What I LOVE about growing potatoes is – baby tubers aka Dum Aloo.

Big bag of red potatoes from Costco is sitting in the pantry for a week now. Hot and humid pantry did the trick, I saw few potatoes sending out shoots (or chitting).  Nice, it’s time for some potato planting. I am experimenting a bit this year by growing few plants in containers vs. in ground. Hopefully I can update in few months, which method turns out better. okay, so here’s how-to grow potatoes:

WP_20140522_002

Here are potatoes that are chitting (sending out shoots), I sliced the potato with eyes. remaining potato can be used for cooking.

WP_20140522_004

Here are few containers I am using to plant these tubers. This year, I am planting a few in pots and few directly in the ground. Lets see which method yields more. Next, I’ll fill in containers half full with soil and some compost.

WP_20140522_005

Close up few of the container with potato planted, eye side up and just buried under the soil.

WP_20140522_006

Here are containers with potatoes planted, notice that containers are halfway – or even less – full. Potato plants as they emerge, need to be buried with soil. This hill building will happen throughout next 2 months, buried stems of the plant will bear the tubers. More hilling yields more potato crop. I’ll post few pictures in coming months as potatoes start emerging.

As you can see, I have a very late start to gardening this year, hopefully I’ll pick up some speed in coming months.

Happy Gardening!

