July 2013 Week 3

Berries are in high production now, we are eating many berries and clicking less. Here are few of the pictures clicked. This year I didn’t a good job cleaning out Strawberry bed in fall and early spring. There were many weed runner, mainly buttercups and lots of old dead leaves. Many of my strawberries were rotten (neglect to pick up, rotting under leaves mess).  I have to keep up with strawberries and clean up in spring next year for more production.

Strawberry

berries

Here is mid-July garden update:

Pea vines were pulled out, before pulling peas reached high up.

 
IMG_0165.JPG (2)

Here is Bed 2 with huge broccoli plant with tiny head 😦 along with kale, lettuce and some chard.

tiny broccoli 

More peas – these are snow peas. I didn’t like the taste and I didn’t use much in cooking. I might not grow snow peas again, I’d rather grow shelling and snap peas.

snow pea vines 

We harvested more Peas (snow peas, snap and shelling) , broccoli shoots and arugula this week.

arugula peas

Next week looks more promising with harvest, many onions are dropping tops so I might get a big harvest out of it.

This week’s harvest:
Snow Peas:  #22
Broccoli shoots: 1 cup
Strawberries: 2 containers (not pictured)
Parsley: 1 bunch
Onions + tops: 32
Raspberries: 2 containers (not pictured)

Happy Gardening!

One thought on “July 2013 Week 3

  1. good farming…peas look great…too many veggies this month…strawberries look bigger in size than what I saw before

Comments are closed.