June 2013 Week 1: garden tour

June has brought warmth and few showers. There are more sunny days around, days are much longer.

Here is photo of Bed 1 (morning sun) – I am growing Walla Walla sweet onions, these tend to get big. Onions are now rooted and getting bigger.  Walla walls are long day type onions, Long-day onions, on the other hand, begin to form a bulb when the day length is between 14 and 16 hours.

IMG_0082.JPG (2)

From Left: Walla Walla Onions, Red Sails Lettuce, Spinach, Chard, Blue kale, Chard (bolting) and Sorrel (bolting)

Below is Bed 5 (Full day Sun)

I grew spring spinach in a bed with morning sun (bed 1) and this one. Spinach did not grow big here in full sun, it was pulled. From next year, I’ll grow spinach in shade. This bed has various kale, arugula, lettuce, peas, beets and carrots.  Earlier in Spring, Spinach and bok choy was here.

IMG_0086

From Left: Lacinto Kale, Arugula. lettuce, beets, tri color carrots and peas. Some pepper plants growing in containers.

IMG_0087

Potato and tomato plants in containers

 

This is Bed 2 (Morning Sun) –  Some peas, kale, chard and brocolli is here. I am growing 3 types of peas but I did not lable them.. now I don’t know which are which. Peas growing in another area are sweet, tender, melt in mouth taste – these are surely Sugar Anne from Ed Hume. I still have to see which ones are these…

IMG_0083.JPG (2)

From Left: Sorrel in back and big broccoli plant in front, peas, various kale, lettuce. chard and more peas.

 

Tada.. and here’s glimpse of what’s to come. Very first ripe strawberry 🙂

IMG_0091.JPG (2)

I didn’t venture out in garden (except some photos) except for picking few things here and there. With June warmth, spring greens were bolting and needed harvest. That’s all was gardening work this week.

Harvests:

Harvested spring planted Bok Choy and Spinach

IMG_0052

More red choi

IMG_0024.JPG (2)

and some arugula

IMG_0053.JPG (2)

Summer salad lunch included Arugula next day… And I made saag with Bok choy and Spinach. Sarson ka Saag is made with mustard greens and spinach, I kept the recipe same and replaced mustard with bok choy. Since both are from same plant families, taste was much the same…

Happy Gardening!

2 thoughts on “June 2013 Week 1: garden tour

  1. Go, Mama 🙂
    If you’re still wondering about roses, I had one that didn’t bloom at all for 3 years. I gave up on it and cut it back down to the ground. This year, it’s blooming in profusion.
    They smell better when I plant garlic next to them 🙂

  2. Lots of veggies..superb…record-breaking…m sure everyone in the house will have veggies from their own garden lunch/dinner.
    I loved chard,kale,choy and spinach the most…

Comments are closed.