May 2013 Week 2: It’s hot

Last week was Hot and it’s May in PNW. It’s unbelievable.

I have spent about a decade here and my memory of May is cold, soggy, foggy, sluggy garden. It’s far from that right now. Temps are teasing 80s and did I mention it’s HOT? I am as confused as weather, should I be planting out tomatoes yet? should I seed beans and squash? There’s always fear of temps going back to 50s but will it?

I am spending way more time outdoors – walking, hiking and not so much in garden. There are plentiful harvests though.

I harvested this bunch of sorrel and used with pasta, turned out too lemony for my taste.

IMG_0604

Sorrel

Plants are on fast pace with good dose of warmth and sunshine. On Thursday, harvested big bunches of Sorrel, shared with neighbors. Also harvested overwintered beets & greens, as well big bunch of chard. I made Chard + beets bhaji, made into 2 portions and froze one for later use

 

IMG_0613

Top row: Sorrel in both buckets
Bottom row, from left: Chard bunch and overwintered beets

Here’s what sown this week:
Peppers: Banana, hot peppers, sweet peppers, saved seeds from Indian round peppers, Takis Sweet, early Jalapeno

What’s harvested last week?
Rainbow Chard – 1 bunch – made into Bhaji
Beets & Greens – 1 bunch – made into Bhaji
Sorrel – 2 bunches – shared with neighbors

Happy Gardening!

 

