October Garden Tour

Albeit a little frosty in mornings, summer like weather continues. Forecast tell that it may go on till middle of October. Here is small tour of fall garden
.DSC_0393

Muncher cucumbers are happy and growing. I did not train them upwards this year, I just got lazy.  I’m happy to see that they don’t mind crawling and producing. These have come from cheap American Seeds packets purchased at local Walgreens. So far, I have picked about 10-12 of these, much of it enjoyed as Kakadi – Tomato koshimbir.


boken tomato

Two of tomato plants – Sweet 100 and Early Girl.
I bought these from local Rite Aid clearance mid-summer. While planting sweet 100 I accidently snapped the whole plant at root line, I knew I lost it but took a chance and planted it deep. Somewhere I had read that, tomato plants will produce roots if they are planted deep. Miraculously this tomato plant lived and producing. I did dig up out of curiosity and indeed I saw root branches right out of stem just above where it had snapped.

 

DSC_0399

Brassica Bed – Cauliflower, cabbages along with few tomato plants – San Marzano, Jersey, Early Girl and one cherry type.

DSC_0397

Beaverlodge Tomatoes – these are only tomato type I am growing from seed.

DSC_0396

Green Sorrel – loving this weather!

DSC_0395 
Purple Kohlrabi

DSC_0392

zucchini

 

DSC_0391

Green flowing vegetable beds along the back of the house.

 

 

Happy Gardening!!

