Harvest Monday: 8/13/2012

Summer Olympics, work and kids have been priority for last couple weeks, priority not necessarily in same order J. Gardening has been neglected for some time and its starting to show in form of plants in need of watering, slug holes in cabbage plants etc. I have to get my act together this weekend and invest some time in fixing up plants, fertilize, sluggo and watering.

Although I have been neglecting it, garden is enjoying warmth of the summer, slowly getting in giving mode.


I picked last of the lingering raspberries earlier in the week along with some blueberries. These were thrown into protein shake next morning.


Potato plant (yes, there’s only 1) was being enjoyed by slugs nightly. Since potatoes were done flowering, I could see early fruit set. Being impatient, I dug up lonely potato plant. Single plant produced these tubers, not bad at all.
This year I had big plans to grow potatoes, plan was on track until my DH decided to clean pantry one afternoon in March. I had been saving seed potatoes (organic, no-spray Yukon Gold and Red, about 8-10 in count) in pantry, little sprouts had formed, in a week or two they would be in ground. DH thought that I have been neglecting to clean up and he threw out the entire lot. I lost all interest in growing potatoes for year. To my luck, 2 volunteer potatoes came up in mid-April from exact spot I grew them last year.  Last week I got 2 medium Yukon gold and this week it’s all red potatoes. Well, I am not entirely sad.

blueberries, wax beans and radish pods

On Thursday, I picked first of the wax beans, blueberries and radish pods (moogori or Mugori, mulyachya shenga)

Harvest Summary for this week: 
Potatoes, red: 4 medium and 10 small
Blueberries: 54
Radish Pods (Mugori, mulyachya shenga):  enough to make 4 servings
Wax Beans: (Ed Hume Seeds) 5
Raspberries: 10

Happy Gardening!!

2 thoughts on “Harvest Monday: 8/13/2012

  1. Nice varied harvest you have there, I’m going to let some of my radishes go to seed and use the seed pods for stir fry, thanks for the tip.
    BTW how do you use funugreek greens? Can you grow curry plant in your area? I would love to have one, but it’s too cold it here.

  2. Mac – I usually sauté Fenugreek leaves with onion and garlic, eat as mild curry.
    I haven’t tried growing curry leaves here, it’s just too cold. Few of my friends grow it as indoor plant.

Comments are closed.