Harvest Monday 7/25/2011

 

DSC_0544DSC_0540DSC_0489 (3)DSC_0486 (3)DSC_0485 (3)DSC_0499

Last of the strawberries were picked this week. We managed to get about 120 or so from the last pick, there were so many still left on the vines but got slug damage. I did not pick berries with evident slug bites. I am happy with this year’s strawberry pick, plan to deter slugs from berries was successful. So with few still on vine (left for slugs to enjoy) strawberry for 2011 is done, managed to get about 230 fruits ( about 5 lbs.) I am happy to see harvests of some real greens since last 2 weeks, picked 3 bunches of Methi from spring sowing. I used greens to make lovely Methi Malai Muttor with basmati Rice. Yum. I can’t wait till next Methi is ready to use. I also picked chard and spinach. I was surprised to see chard growing in spring, from seeds sown last year. Since it was growing in place where I intended to plant Peas, I transplanted it to container. Big mistake, Chard did not like being transplanted and it refused to show vigor. For next year, I’ll be wintersowing chard as it comes up in Spring by its own. I am too impatient and I dug up 2 potato plants, one was sown and other was volunteer on last year’s spot. There were 6 small tubers, not bad. Raspberries continue to ripen, picked about 300 last week. We snacked on few and froze few. Now I have 2 bags (gallon size, filled about half) full of berries in freezer, Strawberries and Raspberries.

Linking to Daphne’s dandelions, where gardeners worldwide showcase their harvests. Gardeners from East are showing off their tomatoes while we in Northwest worry if we can even get a ripe tomato this year.

 

