Ambat Chuka = Green Sorrel

  DSC_0039 (2)

Ambat Chuka has a special place in Marathi Cuisine. Little I know that we can grow Ambat Chuka here, well sorrel thrives in Pac NW conditions. It grows well in spring and thrives in summer, I hope it continues to produce in coming fall. It’s got tangy, sour taste which come all together when cooked with daal – my favorite. We harvested big bunch of sorrel this weekend and made into Ambat Chuka Bhaji (no photos) – It’s almost been 10 years since I last tasted it. Happy.

Green Sorrel has many names :
  English – Green Sorrel, Garden Sorrel
  Marathi – Ambat Chuka
  Hindi – Khatti Palak
  Telugu – Chukka Kura

Ambat Chuka goes onto my list of things to grow next year!

3 thoughts on “Ambat Chuka = Green Sorrel

  1. Hi Fenugreeklove,
    Wow…they are so green! Wonderful harvest… I have got it a couple of times but since it is not as easily available as other greens, we don’t end up cooking much of it. I will try growing it at home, i.e if I manage to get hold of the seeds:)

Comments are closed.