Beaverlodge Tomato

Summer in Northwest is very unpredictable, we never have sunny days in row. Most of the summer days include morning cloud cover and afternoon sunshine with 4-5 days of abundant heat (maybe in 90s). Not so good news for us gardeners who want to grow main crop tomatoes. Here by the time tomato plants grow, bear fruits and begin to ripen – comes September/October and plants are threatened with frost. I see many many people (friends and co-workers) growing tomatoes during summer and end up with baskets of green, unripe tomatoes by frost.

That’s the reason I am growing ‘Ultra-early’ or ‘Cold-Set’ tomatoes. Tomatoes which ripe earliest or set fruit/ripen in relative cold. For main-crop tomatoes, I have never had success with seed started plants, they just never reach maturity before frost hits. I have bought plants from Fred Meyer for main-season. My house sits on cooler side with morning sun exposure so it is extremely important for me to grow tomatoes well suited for my micro-climate.

The very first tomato to ripen this year is Beaverlodge.

“Beaverlodge tomato is bred at the Beaverlodge Research Center in Alberta Canada, these are Sub-Arctic series of tomatoes developed for short season gardening. They are considerably larger than cherry tomatoes and take about a month less than regular tomatoes. The plants are determinate, which means they form compact, bushy plants rather than sprawling ones. That growth habit makes these varieties suitable for container growing.”

Here is pictorial:
 
DSC_0021  DSC_0045  DSC_0061 DSC_0271

It made to the daily harvest yesterday 🙂

 DSC_0275

2 thoughts on “Beaverlodge Tomato

  1. Love your blog. You inspired me to keep track of how much I plant and how much the produce etc. Thanks!!

    BTW, we also made garden beds like you 🙂

    1. @Vadani kaval Gheta: Thank you for compliments and kind words. I loved oyur blog, recipes and marathi wisdom. You have great command over the language. where are you located in US? I like many of your recipes – I am going to try Khandeshi methi this week 🙂 I am Marathi too so liked your marathi blog better. Iam slowly reading your blogs end-to-end, liking it so far. blogrolling you soon.

Comments are closed.