Lot of Firsts…

Fist time in my memory (of 8 years that I lived) in Puget Sound, winter is over in January
It is almost guilty to hear chilly stories from East coast, while they are blanketed in deep snow. As far as south Texas panhandle is getting icy storms and London seeing record snowfall. All while we at Pacific Northwest enjoying record highs for January, looking for signs of winter that lasted just for few days in December. Cascade mountains have hardly have a snow cover.
We are getting glorious mornings, temperatures in 50s, birds singing, daffodils blooming (and tulips too, go check out Shell gas station in Redmond, I’ll get picture proof if I can). Winter is over.

I am seeing lot of first buds and blossoms of the year

DSC_0048DSC_0042
Bare Raspberry cane with bud, Almost flowering Rosemary (flowers in Feb, that’s first!)
DSC_0039DSC_0037
Perennial Oregano is showing signs of life,  Young leaves on Rose bush

 

We got first bloom of the year in my backyard
Check out Hellebores in bloom…

DSC_0022DSC_0009DSC_0013

Helleborus, also known as Helleborus orientalis, was the hands-down favorite for shade. Hellebores have become so popular because they bloom in winter – wet or snow – in February. That’s when these low-growing evergreens with white, lemon  blossoms come to life, blooming until late spring. Their evergreen foliage then graces the garden for the remainder of the year.

First Harvest of edibles from Garden 

DSC_0054DSC_0026        

Check out this lovely bunch of chives up and ready to be picked, I saw one small flower bud coming up too. I remember last year, chives were not ready till late Feb. I picked chives and broccoli side shoots. Few months back I wasn’t sure if I should call broccoli as failure of 2009 garden, not so much….

Chives were topped on sizzling Roti (below). Broccoli was used in Vegetable Upma (below)

DSC_0002 DSC_0008

