Peanut Butter Tree

12 11 2009

 

DSC_0046

 

We moved into our new house last year in fall, most of the shrubs and trees had shed leaves by then. In front yard, a wonderful smallish tree caught my attention – It had pinkish buds with blue berry like fruits. Quite unusual I thought. In Summer around late July this tree started blooming – had thousands of small pink-white flowers that looked like Jasmine and had very strong aroma. Many people who visited us in summer wondered about this tree, they had never seen such thing.

DSC_0049

And I kept looking…searched folia, USDA plant database, internet but couldn’t find the name.  All of a sudden, 2 days back, I landed on Petunia’s blog. I was jumping in joy to have stumbled on her page. Thank you thank you Petunia. There it is – It’s called Peanut Butter tree or Clerodendrum trichotomum or harlequin glorybower

More research on it –
USDA link is here -http://plants.usda.gov/java/profile?symbol=CLTR

Why is it called Peanut Butter Tree?
Internet tells me leaves of this tree have very strong pungent smell, when rubbed these leaves give out peanut butter smell. well, I never noticed before, I went to front yard for my own taste test, and yes, it does kinda smells like peanut butter.
Now that I remember about flowers, stamens of this flower do have strong PB like aroma. when stamens removed, flowers give out very sweet fragrance – earthy jasmine like.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 11 2009
Paula

Hi- I’m catching up on the blog and just saw your note. So glad it helped identify your shrub. I had never seen one of these before! Nice to find another NW gardener, too. Paula

19 11 2009
fenugreeklove

Thank you Paula, I am regular reader of your blog, very inspirational. It’s been great to finally know about the tree in my yard, I went nuts looking for it and finally found on your blog. Thank you for sharing all the good information with us.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

