Garden Planning 2010: growing Indian vegetables

Year 2009 gave me good learning and more encouragement to grow my own vegetables. I grew lots of lettuce, peas – western vegetables. I did better with fenugreek (methi), dill (shepu), cilantro, mint and peppers. Next year my total focus will be growing Indian vegetables – that I love to eat every single day.

Here’s the 2010 plan –
Greens: Fenugreek (methi), Chinese Spinach (math), Spinach
Squash: Dudhi/Lauki/Bottle Gourd, Cucumbers
Beans: Green beans, Snap Peas, Long beans, Okra
Alliums: Spring onion
Fruit Vegetables: Tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, Eggplant, sweet peppers, hot peppers
Root Vegetables: Potatoes – Yukon gold and fingerlings

I’ll grow below veggies just because I have free leftover seeds from this year
Greens: Basil, Lettuce, Brussels Sprouts
Squash: Zucchini , Butternut Squash
Alliums: Spring onion 
Root Vegetables: Beets, Radishes 

Fun veggies:
I am planning to grow Kala vatana and Rajma just for fun, ever inquisitive mind wants to know how seedlings look like, are flowers beautiful? I also want to grow just 2 of each – cabbage and cauliflower. Just for fun.

Apart from leftover seeds from this year, I am planning to order few Indian veggie seeds from these seed stores, I checked their websites. Time to order for catalog :)
Johnny’s Selected Seeds – got good selection with bottle gourd and greens
Evergreen Seeds – Specialized company with Asian vegetables, good selection
SeedsofIndia – everything and anything from India. I usually tend to buy seeds from local area suppliers as these seeds are developed suitable to environment. I suspect success rate with seedsofindia as it seems these seeds are imported from India?

2 thoughts on “Garden Planning 2010: growing Indian vegetables

  1. Where are you moving to in California? I’m 26, Indian, and brand new to agriculture. I got tired of the sales an business world and bought myself a 21 acre ranch. My goal is to grow great organic Indian vegetables that are very hard to find here. I would love to chat and learn what I can from you. My ranch is close to temecula,ca. nolimitamit@yahoo.com.

    • Hi Amit, Thank you for visiting this blog. Congratulations on making choices in life about what you really want, it is very hard to do. Your goal is very admirable, unfortunately I don;t have much advice for you. I am a newbie myself experiementing in my garden. I advice you talk to seedsofindia.com, they have much better knowledge. Temecula weather is very close to Indian hot weather, you’ll be successful in your venture.

Comments are closed.